Skip to content

January: Month of Spinach

January 15, 2011

So… I don’t know if anybody else is still around, but as it’s the middle of January, I am taking it upon myself to issue a new challenge, even if I’m the only one doing it. The air here in Gaziantep is atrocious, and asthma has been kicking my ass. One food that is supposed to help with asthma is spinach (and possibly other dark, leafy greens?). At the school caf this week, I also had a really delicious spinach dish, and I think it was just a sign. I need to find some ways to eat more spinach-y things. I usually just have baby spinach raw, pre-washed out of the bag, but that isn’t an option over here. So my recipe contributions will probably be cooked, but it isn’t a requirement. I’d say a recipe even calling for another type of greens is totally kosher too.

Laura’s Recipes:

Sauteed Wild Mushrooms with Spinach – A recipe I used to make at home, where it’s very easy to pick up some bags of baby spinach and some fresh mushrooms. I used red wine instead of sherry, because that’s what I had around, and I actually liked it more than when I later made it with the cooking sherry called for in the recipe. I made it once with baby bellas, but most of the time I used just regular ol’ white mushrooms.

Yumurtalı Ispanak (Turkish Spinach with Eggs) – This is what I had in the cafeteria. It seemed an odd combination, and it looked a little weird, but after eating bibimbap in Korea, I’ve learned to be more accepting of food topped with a cooked egg. This is a recipe I found in English that seems simple enough.

Garlicky Spinach and White Bean Soup – Another I haven’t tried yet, but the ingredients seem common enough. I will probably be leaving out the rosemary and canned tomatoes (subbing fresh) because those things aren’t available at my local store. Maybe somewhere else in this city, but I ain’t putting that big an effort towards it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

