Skip to content

Challenge: Holiday Beverages

December 13, 2010

I thought about desserts since it seems a natural thing to do around Christmas, but I thought that desserts are good any ol’ time, and when the weather is cold like it is, and when people want to get jolly as they do, a seasonal holiday beverage of some sort is a nice touch. Alcoholic or not, hot or cold, whatever. Just so long as it makes the day seem a little happier, a little more special, a little different from the rest of the year.

Laura’s recipe suggestions:

Turkish Apple Tea – I tried apple tea while I was in Pamukkale and it was rather chilly. It was fantastic- it’s very much like a hot apple cider. I tried buying apple tea in tea bags at the store, but it’s nothing like the apple tea I had in Pamukkale. I hope this recipe is more like it. The comments on the web site seem to indicate so.

Spiced Cider/Wine Mix – I think we tried this last year at my parents’ house. I’m not sure we had mace, but you can sub nutmeg for it. We added it to a regular ol’ red wine and heated it in the crock pot. It was pretty good! Also makes a good homemade gift. 🙂

Partridge in a Pear Tree – A random Christmas cocktail find on WordPress, but it looks tasty, and the Christmas tie-in is kind of cute.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 5:35 PM

    The turkish apple tea sounds divine. I have never heard of it. Very nice post.

Leave a Reply

