Skip to content

Laura’s Review: Gavurdağı Salatası

November 25, 2010

I went ahead and made this today for Thanksgiving, as this was about the closest thing I was going to get to Thanksgiving food here. I made a few tweaks to the recipe, including adding a cucumber, seeded and chopped into small pieces. I thought the recipe had this as an ingredient, but as I was making it I noticed it was missing. I also doubled the amount of pomegranate sauce. I think I probably could have added some more. And lastly, I did not have red pepper to add, but it didn’t seem to hurt the taste at all.

It was really delicious and fresh, and not all that difficult to make. I both washed and then peeled the tomatoes out of paranoia (pop them into boiling water for a couple seconds and the skin cracks and peels off really easily), and the parsley got washed twice. Foreign bacteria paranoia. 🙂 I will definitely make it again.

There was a little bit left after Katie and I ate dinner, so I put it in a container, minus the juice it was sitting in. Salads generally don’t keep well, but it was so tasty I hate to just toss it out. We’ll see if it survives a night in the fridge without getting too soggy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

