Skip to content

New Month, New Food

November 5, 2010

Alrighty, it’s my turn!  Even though Laura’s in Turkey, she said she’s still totally in for our monthly cooking challenge.  I was trying to think of something we can do that would be pretty easy for Laura, given that she’ll probably have a stove top, but not an oven.  Also, we’re not sure what kind of foods will be readily available.  So, with that, I think I’m going to go with: salads.  They can be any variety – it doesn’t need to be leafy or anything.

I’ll start!

I can’t say how much I love this Mediterranean Pepper Salad.  The flavors are awesome, you don’t have to cook anything, and it only gets better the longer you let it marinate.  When I first made this, I wasn’t sure what a Kirby cucumber was…it’s just a pickling cucumber, and HEB tends to have them all the time, so I don’t think you gals will have too hard a time.  If you do, just use a regular cucumber.  I would love to have one of you gals try it, and tell me what you think!

Laura’s recipes:

Gavurdağı Salatası (Gah-voor-die-yuh Sah-lah-tah-suh) Amazingly, this salad tastes like Thanksgiving! It really reminded me of stuffing. I think it is the walnuts and the pomegranate sauce, which gives it a sour-sweet tang, like cranberry sauce. This recipe calls for pomegranate paste (aka molasses, aka sauce), but I would try to substitute some pomegranate or cranberry juice (maybe reduced with a little bit of sugar? It was not thick when I ate it, just like a salad dressing, so maybe plain is fine.). I really want someone to try this and see how it tastes.  I think it would be a fantastic dish to make for Thanksgiving! [Addendum: I’ve found a recipe for pomegranate paste HERE.]

Turkish kidney bean salad (Piyaz) Simple and lettuce-free. 🙂 The other recipe for this I saw said to marinate it for one hour. I had something like this, but I think the beans were fava beans.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lali permalink*
    November 6, 2010 6:08 PM

    Hmm. I’m actually supposed to avoid raw veg that I cannot peel (or cook it thoroughly, at which point it ceases to be raw veg) to avoid the sanitation problems over here. They mention lettuce specifically as a problem to eat since it’s hard to clean properly. I may have to find a “salad” without any bacteria-ridden, raw, unpeelable veg. Maybe a bean-based salad. I’ll have to do some searching. I’ll post what I find. 🙂

Leave a Reply

