Skip to content

Tish’s Review: Slow Cooker Lasagna

October 20, 2010

Oh, crock pot recipes!!  I have PLENTY of these.  I will only list two, though.  First, this fool proof crock pot lasagna recipe.  This recipe is from a cookbook a good friend gave me when I first bought a crock pot.  It’s…well loved at this point…there are a ton of stains in it, the pages are wrinkled, and the book opens up right to this recipe. 🙂  One great perk of this one: there are always leftovers, and they taste even better the next day!

Slow cooker lasagna from Taste of Home: The New Slow Cooker

1 pound ground beef (I use lean turkey)

1 large onion, chopped

2 minced garlic cloves

1 can tomato sauce (I usually use the jar kind)

1 cup water

1 can tomato paste

1 tsp salt

1 tsp dried oregano

1 package no-cook lasagna noodles (no idea what that means, now that I look at it…I just use normal lasagna noodles)

4 cups (16 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

1 1/2 cups ricotta ( I use the low-fat kind)

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

In a skillet, cook beef, onion, and garlic over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain (My note: with the turkey, I don’t have to do that).  Add the tomato sauce, water, tomato paste, salt, and oregano.  Mix well.  Spread a fourth of the meat sauce in an ungreased slow cooker.  Arrange a third of the noodles over sauce.

Combine the cheeses.  Spoon a third of the mixture over noodles (My note: we learned that it’s easier to take the noodles in your hand and spread the cheese on the noodles directly with a spatula, and then just place them in).  Repeat layers twice.  Top with remaining meat sauce.  Cover; cook on low for four to five hours or until noodles are tender.

Yay!  Will post the short ribs one in a bit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

