Skip to content

Laura’s Review: Legumes

October 11, 2010

I made the Cypriot Sour Lentil Soup, which is sour because at the end you add some red wine vinegar. Before adding this and the salt and pepper in the last step it’s really rather bland, even with a couple crushed garlic cloves thrown in (it calls for just one), and I was a bit worried. But once it’s all in there it tastes really great, and I think it’s one of those things that tastes even better the next day after the flavors have melded.

The only change I might make is not cooking it for so long. I set the timer for an hour, as in the recipe, and I think the lentils were probably fully cooked long before that. I don’t think the lentils themselves suffered much, but the onions and parsley were WELL done, and I think it would have looked better if the parsley hadn’t lost as much of its color. I decided to throw some more parsley in at the end for color. And maybe next time I’ll try it with a squeeze of lemon at the end. I believe I skipped that.

Anyway, five out of five stars for me. It was delicious, easy, and healthy, and even Joey seemed to really like it. It tasted great both hot and cold. It went quickly over here, and I’d really like to make another batch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

