Skip to content

Greek Style Spinach Rice

September 27, 2010

One of my coworkers brought something like this into the teachers’ lounge the other day and it looked SO good. He said it was Greek style spinach rice (his daughter just married a bona fide Greek, so I guess he would know), with some tomatillo sauce thrown in on top. I tracked down a recipe and made it tonight for dinner.

Spinach Rice – Spanakorizo

I used brown rice and had to cook it for about 45-50 minutes, because that’s just how long brown rice takes. I used two 10 oz boxes of frozen spinach so I wouldn’t have to dirty another pot to cook the spinach- I just thawed in it the microwave. I also threw in a few crushed garlic cloves because I wasn’t sure it was going to be flavorful enough when I tasted it halfway through. Also, no tomatillo sauce in the house… at least none that hadn’t been opened in 2009… probably when I was still living in my apartment. Eww.

It turned out well, and I like that there are so few ingredients in it. Definitely will make again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

