Skip to content

Reviews: Carrots

March 27, 2010
by


I made two:
Roasted Coriander Carrots and Roasted Carrot and Avocado Salad. I’d make both of them again. The only problem is cooking them long enough to make sure they’re soft. Neither are a quick fix, but they’re both delicious. The parsley in the first one adds color but not much in the way of taste, and I think I added a bit too much pepper. I didn’t really measure because I couldn’t get the whole peppercorns out of the pepper mill. Next time I’ll just buy a box of ’em, and maybe get a permanent pepper mill that can be opened and refilled. For the salad, I thought some cilantro leaves would be a good addition (and make it Mexican-er), and once the carrots and avocado are tossed in the oil and lemon I wouldn’t want ’em to sit in it too much. The lemon can get overpowering. And I might try increasing the cumin a bit. I couldn’t really taste it. But it was an interesting combination of things, and I’ll make it again.

Lali

Ok, meant to send this out earlier – thanks for the reminder, La!  I made the roasted carrots from Recipezaar. I thought they were ok as far as cooked carrots go (yeah, I don’t think it matters how they’re cooked, I just don’t like them cooked). Christopher of course spit them right back out, and John said they were really good, he liked them. Would I make them again? Only if someone were coming over for dinner that I knew loved carrots, because it was super easy to make. 🙂

Laura – when you do make that carrot avocado thing again, let me try it. I’ll try anything with avocado in it!!

Nic

Better late than never, right? 🙂

Okay, so I tried my Pickled Carrot Sticks recipe <http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/01/pickled-carrot-sticks/> yesterday – it calls for letting the carrots soak for a day in the brine, so I finally tried them tonight.  The recipe was super easy, but I have to say that the smell worried me – imagine boiling sugar, apple cider vinegar, and garlic in your kitchen!   The only thing I had to buy specifically for the recipe was dill seed, which I hadn’t even heard of.  Although, the recipe says that you can use either fresh dill, or dried dill in a pinch.  Jake was VERY dubious, but the Smitten Kitchen lady has never steered us wrong – and, her child is so adorable<http://www.flickr.com/photos/smitten/4531531572/in/set-72157622359738…>,
I would do anything she says.

So, on to the main event – the tasting.  It was pretty good!  Jake said it was basically a carrot that tasted like a pickle, which is basically true, but it was such a surprise to my tastebuds that I liked it.  I could definitely eat a handful of them, no sweat.  And, they’re good for you!

So, that’s my review.  If I had to rate it, I would put it at an 8.5 for ease, and a 7.0 for taste (again, I liked the unique flavor).

Also, I thought of a slight variation for the cooking club – I think it would be fun to make the dishes together!  What if we did something like picking a series of recipes one month, and then I could come up for a weekend the following month, and we could decide among the recipes and make them as a little supper  club???  Or, maybe we could just do that every other month or something.  I’d be happy to come down during a weekend in May, and I could probably bring my sister as well!

Tish

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

